NHL Realignment for 2013/ 2014 season

NHL Logo

The 2013 / 2014 NHL realignment plan is now completed.

What is new:

  • Detroit and Columbus head east. Winnipegs heads west.
  • Top three teams with best record in each division gets playoff berths. Next two teams with best record in each division get wildcard playoff berths.

Why it was done:

The NHL went to a realigned format for geographic purposes and has decided to stick with geographic names for the four new divisions. Three of the four names are carryovers from the old six-division alignment, but the League added a new name to the mix.

Atlantic Division Metropolitan Division Central Division Pacific Division
Boston Carolina Chicago Anaheim
Buffalo Columbus Colorado Calgary
Detroit New Jersey Dallas Edmonton
Florida New York Rangers Minnesota Los Angeles
Montreal New York Islanders Nashville Phoenix
Ottawa Philadelphia St. Louis San Jose
Tampa Bay Pittsburgh Winnipeg Vancouver
Toronto Washington

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 9 = zero

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>